Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - GUI not displaying
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

GUI not displaying

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
njtech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 February 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote njtech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: GUI not displaying
    Posted: 19 November 2008 at 11:42am
Hi,

We've had SpamFilter ISP Enterprise for a while now on a server we access with Remote Desktop using the /console option. Just starting this morning, we've not been able to access the GUI for SpamfilterISP. We've tried restarting the Spamfilter service, restarting the physical server itself, and updating the Spamfilter binaries to the latest version. There are no other sessions open through Terminal Services, and we've never encountered this issue before.

How can we go about regaining access to the GUI?

Thanks in advance,
Justin
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 November 2008 at 8:00pm
Justin,

There are no known issues with the GUI not being displayed, as long as you are able to view the server's actual screen/console. The GUI will sometimes appear in the system tray, or it can be minimized on the task bar. Is there any chance that the screen reaolution is set to a small value (ex 800x600 or lower), which could cause some icons to be hidden? Other than the GUI problem, is SpamFilter operating normally? Is there any chance you can email us at support at LogSat.com a screenshot of the remote desktop contents so we have an idea of what you're seing?

Edited by LogSat - 21 November 2008 at 8:01pm
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
njtech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 February 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote njtech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 November 2008 at 9:57am
Hi,

Sorry for the delay in responding, but we were finally able to track down the issue. It's rather silly, but it turns out that the newest version of the Remote Desktop client has removed support for the /console switch. If you want console access in that version, the only way to get it seems to be to by way of the /admin switch. Kind of a major change to be done to a client so old with no apparent benefit.

Anyway, Spamfilter is working normally (and has been the entire time, apparently), and we again have access to the GUI. Thanks for looking into it.

-Justin
Back to Top
yapadu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 May 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 272
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote yapadu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 January 2009 at 11:58pm
Just found this thread before creating my own post.  I've been running spamfilter for a couple of years, on Windows 2003 Web edition, Windows XP, and Windows 2003 R2.  I've had problems with all of them at one time or another.

When running Spamfitler in service mode -sometimes- I am not able to get the icon to show in the tray.  I know it is running because I can telnet to port 25 but can't view what is actually going on (errors etc.).

If I stop the service I can always run it standalone and it works fine...

Are there any tips to getting the icon to show all the time?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.