Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Scanning outgoing mail
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Scanning outgoing mail

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
wtsgruppen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 August 2008
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wtsgruppen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Scanning outgoing mail
    Posted: 19 August 2008 at 2:49pm
Hi there,
We're in the process of buying SF for our company to use for our customers. It looks nice, and we're testing right now.
 
We have one question though, which I can't see too much info about.
 
We've got it working innound - works great.
 
But how about outbound.
 
Setup: The SF server is at our location, recieving mails for three customers, and forwarding to their servers on their own network (off location).
 
How can I get the customers server to send via the SF server. What setup do I need to make on the SF server?
 
I'm using Exchange, and the setup on the Exchange is pretty much sthraight forward.
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4066
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 August 2008 at 4:14pm
SpamFilter is mainly designed to process incoming emails, which are then forwarded to your destination SMTP server(s) holding the actual mailboxes. To use SpamFilter as an "outgoing SMTP server", and relay emails out to the internet, there are a couple of options available.

1. You can add the IP addresses/networks of the users who wish to use SpamFilter as their "Outgoing SMTP Server" to the IP address whitelist in SpamFilter. Only IPs that have been whitelisted will be able to send emails out to the internet.

or...

2. SpamFilter supports SMTP Authentication. Users can be authenticated using either Active Directory, LDAP, or Unix-style password files. SSL support is also available. Any user that authenticates successfully is able to use SpamFilter to relay emails to the internet (and thus use it as their Outgoing SMTP server).

Please note that in all cases, SpamFilter will always forward emails to your destination SMTP server for delivery, even though these emails will be sent to external domains. For security reasons, to avoid becoming an open relay, SpamFilter will never emails directly to the internet.



Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
wtsgruppen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 August 2008
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wtsgruppen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 August 2008 at 5:12pm
OK we've tried with the number one solution, but we still are not able to relay (error 557 in the mail I'm keep getting back).
 
Could it be the following:
In "Settings" -> "Configuration"
We have the "Destination Server" set to our server mail - mail.domainname.dk
 
This server is also the one I'm trying to send mail from - Could this be the problem, and that the "destination Server" should be the one my Hosting provider is providing?
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4066
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 August 2008 at 9:48pm
If an IP is in the IP whitelist, it will *always* be able to relay and send emails thru SpamFilter. The only time an email will be blocked is if you've installed the optional anti-virus plugin, and the email contains a virus. In this case, virus-infected emails will always be stopped (but I doubt this is the case here).

Are you 100% sure that the "557" unable to relay error is generated by SpamFilter and not by your destination SMTP server...?

It is to note that, again, as we mentioned earlier, SpamFilter will forward all emails to your destination SMTP server for delivery. If the source of the emails is the server "mail.domainname.dk", and this server is the same one in SpamFilter's "Destination Server", you will need to be careful in avoiding mail loops, as every email SpamFilter receives will be forwarded back to mail.domainname.dk for the actual delivery.


Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
__M__ View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 August 2006
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 75
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote __M__ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 August 2008 at 6:07am
wtsgruppen, just thought I'd let you know that I have an unused license for Spam Filter Enterprise available (it includes 12 months subscription) for sale at a discounted rate.

Let me know if you are interested? Logsat can confirm the authenticity of this license.
Back to Top
oawwad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 February 2009
Location: Jordan
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oawwad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 February 2009 at 6:17pm
How much you want for the license? Is it still available. Replay to omar@sama.jo
Back to Top
oawwad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 February 2009
Location: Jordan
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oawwad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 February 2009 at 6:30pm
Dear Support...
I'm testing the SF now, and installed it on a separate servers.
I redirected the MX0 to the SF server, and the SF will forward to my mail server.
Its working fine for incoming emails. scanning and blocking SPAM.
Now... i need to use it for outgoing messages. I added the server IP to the white-list, and SF start receiving the messages.
The problem is that the SF is forwarding messages back to my mail server :)
Emails are doing loops between SF server and my mail server.
Any suggestions to solve this problem?
Thanks
OAWWAD

Back to Top
atifghaffar View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 May 2006
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 104
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote atifghaffar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 February 2009 at 7:06pm
Hello oawwad,

It is complicated, you have to pass many hoops and must design the infrastructure accordingly.
Ours look like this and works more-or-less with a few helpers.

http://www.worldsoft-postmaster.info/

good luck

best regards

Atif
Back to Top
WebGuyz View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WebGuyz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 February 2009 at 5:33pm
Originally posted by atifghaffar atifghaffar wrote:

Hello oawwad,

http://www.worldsoft-postmaster.info/

Atif,
 
  Do you guyz use Bayes? I use spamassassin and have often struggled with how to train bayes engine since there is no per user spamassassin settings and if you have a lot of diverse users it can vary greatly.
 
Thanks!
http://www.webguyz.net
Back to Top
atifghaffar View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 May 2006
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 104
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote atifghaffar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 February 2009 at 10:08am
Hassan,

Can you answer this one. I have no clue how SA is setup?

thanks

best regards

Atif
Back to Top
Hassan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 September 2006
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hassan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 February 2009 at 11:23am
Hello,

We don't use Bayes on our spamassassin. But you have the possibility to setup spamassassin, Bayes per user. 

http://wiki.apache.org/spamassassin/BetterDocumentation/SqlReadmeBayes

Regards,
Worldsoft
Back to Top
ImInAfrica View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 27 June 2006
Location: FL, USA
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ImInAfrica Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 March 2009 at 12:23pm
Attif / Hassan
do you have much maintenance work on your SA?
I have a similar setup to yours (great network layout BTW), but we use message sniffer. although it costs a bit (only 50 bucks a month), we've found that the combination Spamfilter, then message sniffer, gives us near 0 rate spam.
I have no affiliation to message sniffer!
we have 0 effort on maintaining it. it updates automatically every 1 hour.

Amir
Back to Top
WebGuyz View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WebGuyz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 March 2009 at 1:42pm
Originally posted by ImInAfrica ImInAfrica wrote:

Attif / Hassan
do you have much maintenance work on your SA?
I have a similar setup to yours (great network layout BTW), but we use message sniffer. although it costs a bit (only 50 bucks a month), we've found that the combination Spamfilter, then message sniffer, gives us near 0 rate spam.
I have no affiliation to message sniffer!
we have 0 effort on maintaining it. it updates automatically every 1 hour.

Amir
 
Hmmm. I like that last line. I use spamassassin w/bayes and have struggeled with different schemes to automatically feed the bayes spam/ham folders each day for  update that occurs at midnight each night. I also not happy with he performance of SA on a windows system. Might have to look into message sniffer since I don't really have time to mess with the Bayes part of SA anymore. I first heard of message sniffer 6 years ago when I was using Imail. I guess if they've been around this long they will be around a little longer ;-)
 
Thanks for the input!
http://www.webguyz.net
Back to Top
atifghaffar View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 May 2006
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 104
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote atifghaffar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 March 2009 at 7:30pm
Amir,

hi,

We do not do a lot of maintenance on SA.
We handle most of our cases with blacklisted/whitelisted keywords  (which are the same for incoming/outgoing) served by a  NAS

One of them is what SA puts in the Subject "SA-Next-Action: Quarantine".

So basically we are not doing much on SA level and all network tests are disabled.


All of server (except the ones running Spamfilter) are running linux so adding another couple of beasts running mail sniffer is not really an option of us.








Edited by atifghaffar - 02 March 2009 at 7:32pm
best regards

Atif
Back to Top
atifghaffar View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 May 2006
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 104
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote atifghaffar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 March 2009 at 7:32pm
Hassan,

Would you please correct me if I am wrong with the details.

thanks

best regards

Atif
Back to Top
Hassan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 September 2006
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hassan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 March 2009 at 4:29am
Hi,

We use SA for outgoing mail (most for redirection mails). As Mr Ghaffar explain, we don't do a lot of maintenance. For time to time we update the rules "sa-update -D". Our SA is coupled with razor.

Regards,
Worldsoft
Back to Top
ImInAfrica View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 27 June 2006
Location: FL, USA
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ImInAfrica Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 March 2009 at 12:25pm
thanks for the info.
Back to Top
oawwad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 February 2009
Location: Jordan
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oawwad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2009 at 7:48am
Dear Atif,

I'm using the SF for incoming mail, and it works fine.
I also want to install  another SF to scan outgoing mail

Here is the setup i have in mind.
http://www.sama.jo/images/mail_setup.jpg

do you think this will work?
do i have to add my domains to local-list?
i think if i do that, it will allow all mail to go out, and will not block spam.

regards
OAWWAD

Back to Top
atifghaffar View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 May 2006
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 104
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote atifghaffar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 March 2009 at 5:27am
Dear OAWWAD,
Yes it will work but with limitations.

It will not be able to run any IP checks as all IPs are trusted internal IPs.
You will be able to do keyword checks, etc.
It the outgoing scanner is used internally then you can add a * in allowed domains.

best regards


best regards

Atif
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.070 seconds.