Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Can't connect to DB - "again"
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Can't connect to DB - "again"

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
rdemeyer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 October 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rdemeyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can't connect to DB - "again"
    Posted: 04 June 2008 at 3:28pm

We are having a repeat of a problem I reported (and Roberto fixed) a few weeks back.  The SF Quarantine DB isn't active and I can't seem to get it to connect.  I have checked all the things we did to fix the last one, but it still keeps telling me that the SQL Server Does Not Exist or Access Denied.

In the previous incident the TCP/IP settings were missing from the DB and were added to correct the issue.  However, today they are present in the DB and I can't connect.  The SQL DB resides on a different Server than the SF software.  I have checked everything I can think of to correct this, but it just doen't want to let me connect.

Anybody have a clue?

Thanks

Randy

Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 June 2008 at 4:06pm
Randy, can you post (or email us) screenshots with the error you are receiving, or a section of SpamFilter's activity logfile showing the errors?
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
rdemeyer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 October 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rdemeyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2008 at 3:31pm
Sent you an Email with the info.
 
Thanks
 
Randy
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2008 at 4:19pm
Even though I think I know the answer, I have to ask.
Is the dialog box for the “Data Link Properties” what appears when, from the serer running SpamFilter, you double-click on the file “D:\Program Files\SpamFilter\Database\SpamFilterMSSQL.udl”?

If so, that is indeed strange. Is it possible for us to remote into your SpamFilter and into your SQL Server so we can have a better idea of what is happening?
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
rdemeyer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 October 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rdemeyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2008 at 5:02pm
Not sure I understand your question about the dialog box.  But you are certainly welcome to access our network to get all the info you need.  Just let me know when you want to schedule it.
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 June 2008 at 9:55pm
If you try to telnet to port 1433 on the SQL server, you will not get a connection right now – you should instead get a connection if SQL server was listening for traffic on that port. I’m pretty sure that once you’re able to solve the SQL issue, that will take care of SpamFilter as well.
Clicking on the “test” button on the UDL file works as that will failback to using named pipes to test the connection. SpamFilter will only use TCP.

Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 June 2008 at 6:43am
For the record, the issue was:
====================================
The issue is that your SQL server is not listening on the standard TCP port 1433, but rather it’s only using named pipes. The SQL Server is configured to use TCP on port 1433, but that port is actually not responding to traffic.

There is a bug in SQL Server that may cause this to happen (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306865) and the workaround is to manually add/change the REG_SZ key below and set its value to 1433 (and restart SQL Server):
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server\ [Instance Name]\MSSQLServer\SuperSocketNetLib\Tcp\TcpPort

Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.