Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Offline Database Problem
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Offline Database Problem

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Offline Database Problem
    Posted: 08 April 2008 at 2:36pm
Roberto, we ran into a situation this weekend after a network upgrade. Our logsat boxes came up before our db box, little did we know that none of the spam was even getting cached, so when we restarted the logsat servers and they connected to the db again there was no spam! How do we get around this? it seems like spamfilter has to be running and loose a connection, but what if it starts up and the db isn't there. can't it still cache everything?
Back to Top
StevenJohns View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 03 August 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 119
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote StevenJohns Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2008 at 8:45am
bump.
 
Although we haven't had this issue, our database is on a different server and so it could be an issue to us too.
I would preferr that SF just died gracefully if it couldn't attach to the database, then we would know there is an issue as we monitor the service status of all critical services.
 
 
Steven Johns
Internet Mail Services
 
Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2008 at 9:48am
Thats not a good solution either.

Why does spamfilter need to be down if it can't connect to the database? Why not just let it cache all the database information like it does when the db drops, when the db comes up you just restart spamfilter and it commits everything to the db. Thats what i'm looking for.
Back to Top
StevenJohns View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 03 August 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 119
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote StevenJohns Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2008 at 10:01am

Ok, you could do that as well.....actually were just trialling SF in database mode, we normally use it in tag & forward mode, so it has never afected us before.

Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2008 at 11:06pm
Kevin, what version of SpamFilter Enterprise are you using, and how many domains are you handling? If the database is offline when SpamFilter Enterprise is started, we designed SpamFilter so that, in this case as well, all the configurations are retrieved from the local cached text files. Please do note that it will take SpamFilter 2-3 minutes to fully startup and begin processing emails, as all the startup procedures will need to wait a few seconds for a database timeout before failing back to the local cached text files.
If the number of domains being handled is high, it may take a bit longer for the startup.
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2008 at 12:21am
I'm running the latest version, but i'm not even running enterprise mode. And thats not the issue.

The issue is that the emails marked as spam go to no where land....What i'd like to see is that spamfilter caches the spam so that when the database does come online again the spam can be put into the database.

We discovered this issue when we did a major infrastructure upgrade and the db server didn't come online before spamfilter, so we were unaware that we were dropping ALL spam and not even puttign it into the database. Inheritantly we lost some legit email from this.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.