Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Best way to move from MS 2000 to 2005
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Best way to move from MS 2000 to 2005

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
WebGuyz View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WebGuyz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Best way to move from MS 2000 to 2005
    Posted: 03 September 2007 at 7:41am
I tried to upgrade to 2005 this early morning and started getting these errors on the new database;
 
09/03/07 05:50:04:859 -- (6568) Error occurred during TAddToQuarantineThread when accessing the quarantine database: Cannot insert the value NULL into column 'MsgID', table 'spamfilter.dbo.tblMsgs'; column does not allow nulls. INSERT fails ( 83 84 85 86 86a 86b 86c 87 88 89 90 91)
 
I stopped all the SFE's and then used the 2005 wizard to copy the db from MS 2000 where it works fine. I set the compatability mode to 2000 but not sure if its dynamic or not since I changed that option while it was running.
 
Put everything back for now. Is there a recommened best practice for upgrading SFE to MS SQL 2005?
 
Thanks!!
http://www.webguyz.net
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 September 2007 at 11:43pm
The compatibility mode should not be an issue, SpamFilter will work in 2005 compatibility mode.

Could you instead please verify and ensure that when you migrated the database, on the new database the column "msgid" in the table tblMsgs has still been configured to be an "Identity" column, meaning that SQL Server will assigning the values for that column?

If that column was not of the "Identity" type, something has gone wrong in your migration, and you'll want to re-check everything as other problems may have occurred.
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
WebGuyz View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WebGuyz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 September 2007 at 1:25am
I used the 2005 Copy Wizard to create the database and move the data, but in retrospect I should have done a detach/attach. Will try that this weekend.
 
Thanks!
http://www.webguyz.net
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.