Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - SpamFilter Enterprise (beta) v3.5 avail
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

SpamFilter Enterprise (beta) v3.5 avail

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 December 2006 at 10:11pm
If a domain has the "Use Defaults" setting checked, then that domain will use all the settings defined under "ALL DOMAINS".

If a domain does not have the "Use Defaults" box checked, then it will use a set of custom domain settings. These settings are the ones showing when the domain is selected in the list, there are no settings being inherited from other domains. They will be mostly blank blacklists/whitelists by default. The beta currently allows you to copy the file-based settings to the domain currently being selected. In the future, we'll allow you to copy the settings from any other domain to the one currently being selected.
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
caratking View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 13 March 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 79
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote caratking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 December 2006 at 11:55pm
Ok, thanks.  That clears things up.

Next question, regarding enterprise.

If I have 10 SF Enterprise servers running (who knows, it could happen!) and I want to add a new domain.  Do I have to manually configure the domain initially on all 10?  Or will the 10 servers find the new configuration of the domain when they next connect to the database server?

If someone is running 20,000 domains and you have to manually enter the domain info. once on each server that could be a lot of work.
Back to Top
caratking View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 13 March 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 79
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote caratking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 December 2006 at 12:40am
I can answer my own question now.

It seems that it will pickup any new domain that is added, from any server.  So if you add a domain on one, any other server using the same database will pickup the new local domains.  Nice.
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 December 2006 at 7:25am
Yeap, modesty aside (), while we were developing, we were thinking "this is going to be really neat!".

We will give you a discount if you purchase 10 licenses !
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
Rifleman View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 08 August 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 53
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rifleman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2006 at 11:03am
Originally posted by LogSat LogSat wrote:

Rifleman,

The MySQL table creation is still a buggy process. If you're having trouble creating the tables with SpamFilter, we suggest running the SpamFilter\database\MySql-Enterprise.sql script directly within MySQL to see if it completes successfully (again after deleting the SpamFilter Enterprise Tables before running it).
 
Tried that and I am getting syntax errors.
Back to Top
WebGuyz View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 09 May 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 348
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WebGuyz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2006 at 6:07pm
Has anyone actually got this running on MS SQL 2000. Been trying off and on for 3 weeks but I keep getting all kinds of errors. Don't think this is ready for installation. Was really excited about seeing it work but no go
http://www.webguyz.net
Back to Top
caratking View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 13 March 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 79
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote caratking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 December 2006 at 2:20am
Dear Santa,

I've been a good boy all year, yes, really really really good!

For XMAS I only want one thing... can you bring me the latest version of SF Enterprise?

Please?  I've been really good.
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 December 2006 at 4:19pm
We've made a *lot* of internal changes to the beta, as there were just too many access violation errors occurring in high traffic scenarios. We've also implemented a brand new way to forward clean emails, so now SpamFilter is able to "split" emails that have multiple recipients, and handle the whitelisted ones separately without being forced to deliver a whole spam email addressed to both whitelisted and non-whitelisted recipients. We can now also forward the same email to multiple destination SMTP servers is the email has multiple recipients, and those recipients belong to multiple domains, and (finally!) those multiple domains have different destinatino SMTP servers.

All the "blah blah" above was to say that the delay in the new beta is because there was a lot of recoding to do...

But Santa should be able to find a new beta to distribute in time....
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
ayjayef View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 November 2006
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ayjayef Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 December 2006 at 7:47pm

(funny post caratking)

Nice work Roberto, spliting the email and the memory errors were both "required" fixes to the initial beta.

Its great to see a product improve with beta feedback, nothing worse than investing time in testing to find that sugestions are ignored.  If only all software houses could be a this good!

Thanks!

 

PS: Don't forget to take some timeout yourself during the impending silly-season.  Fresh eyes can do wonders to a pile of grief giving code.

 

 


Andy.
Back to Top
caratking View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 13 March 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 79
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote caratking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 December 2006 at 8:00pm
Originally posted by ayjayef ayjayef wrote:

 Fresh eyes can do wonders to a pile of grief giving code.



So true, how many nights have I spent hours looking at code, swearing up and down that I can't figure it out.

Go to bed...

Next morning, spot the issue in 30 seconds!
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 December 2006 at 10:32am
Santa has been partying too much, delaying the beta for a couple of days... We've just released it, please see announcement in forum for more details.

Thank you everyone for your input. We've still have not solved all of the issues being reported, but hopefully we're now closer to an official release.
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.079 seconds.