Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Antivirus Add-On
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Antivirus Add-On

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4066
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Antivirus Add-On
    Posted: 06 December 2005 at 5:25pm
Depending on how the remote mail server handles multiple recipients, an email for 50 recipients can arrive either as (1) a single email with 50 "RCPT TO" addresses specified, or (2) as 50 separate emails each with a single recipient. Yes... #1 is much more efficient, but there are several mail servers, some used by VERY big providers, that use #2.

So if SpamFilter receives an email sent as #1, the virus test will be very quick. But if it receives #2, then 50 incoming emails will arrive, each with an attachment that has to be scanned.
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 11:05am

that all worked thanks!

And what a difference this is making on my database wow! So much less junk in there!

One question, on this sober virus that has 50 recipients, does spamfilter have to go through each address? Can't it check the attachment to see there is a virus instead of checking each recipient individually?. If this could be done it seems like it would save alot of cpu cycles?



Edited by kspare
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4066
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 10:34am

You may have performed a manual upgrade (the setup program always copies all required files...) to the latest version from a really old version of Spamfilter that did not include the SSL libraries, and/or you may have installed the antivirus plugin in a different directory than SpamFilter's installation directory.

For problem #1, please try downloading the latest official release, v2.6.3.487. Extract the zip file, copy all the DLLs from the Win32 subdirectory from the archive into the SpamFilter installation directory, then restart SpamFilter.

For problem #2, please re-install the antivirus plugin, and ensure you select the folder where SpamFilter is currently installed as your antivirus installation directory, as the plugin must be installed in the same directory as SpamFilter to work properly.

Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 9:13am
I'm getting an error: can not load ssl library any idea why that would be?
Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 9:04am
Gotcha...Null it is! Thanks Roberto!
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4066
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 8:59am
By default SpamFilter quarantines virus-infected emails to the quarantine database.

Users have (rightfully!) complained that during virus outbreaks the archiving puts a lot of stress on the database server, and asked for an option to *not* quarantine virus emails. In the latest pre-release verison of SpamFilter available in the registered user area we added options to either quarantine emails as with previous versions, or to reject infected emails without adding them to the quarantine database, or even to "send them to NULL", meaning that it will make the sender think the email was send, but in reality it will be simply discarded (this latter option is to avoid the generation of NDRs - non-delivery emails, that some administrators prefer to avoid).
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 8:50am

Ok, I bought it. I also upgraded to the latest pre-dev spamfilter. it has the option to not quaruntine or send them to null.

Whats the difference?

Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 7:34am
Thanks Guys!
Back to Top
Web123 View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Web123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 1:11am
VERY EFFECTIVE !
Back to Top
Desperado View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1143
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Desperado Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2005 at 12:01am

ABSOLUTELY YES!

 

The Desperado
Dan Seligmann.
Work: http://www.mags.net
Personal: http://www.desperado.com

Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2005 at 7:00pm

With the latest virus' going around, i'm thinking I should invest in the av addon because my database is simply getting stupid.

So I want to ask everyone who is using the add-on. Is it filtering out all these virus's that are going around lately?

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.