Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Keyword list question about Subject:
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Keyword list question about Subject:

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
CyberBob View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 26 January 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CyberBob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Keyword list question about Subject:
    Posted: 03 November 2004 at 2:05pm

If I have a keyword in my list like:

viagra

do I also need to have a line like:

Subject:viagra

So both are checked? It seems by only having the key word that emails with "viagra" only in the Subject line are getting through or is this my imagination.

If it's not needed what is the "Subject:" used for in keyword list?

Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4066
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 November 2004 at 12:20am
Bob,

Keywords that begin with "Subject:" will only trigger a match if the string is found in the email's subject line.

All other keywords will be matched against the message body and "Received" headers, *not* the subject line.

Roberto F. LogSat Software
Back to Top
CyberBob View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 26 January 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CyberBob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 November 2004 at 9:27am

Thanks but let me clarify 100%

If I want to filter the word "viagra" from ANYWHERE in an email I'll need to add 2 lines:

viagra
Subject:viagra

Is this correct?

Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4066
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 November 2004 at 11:16pm
Correct, both lines are needed.

Roberto F. LogSat Software
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.