Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - WISH - Support for multiple servers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

WISH - Support for multiple servers

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Morten View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Morten Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: WISH - Support for multiple servers
    Posted: 26 August 2004 at 4:53am

This might have been a request before, but I'd like to send my request :-)

We want a redundant mailsystem. What I want is to put two LogSat servers in front (mail1.domain.com and mail2.domain.com) with both MX=5. When mail1. or mail2. have scanned the mail for spam, the mail will be routed to the backend destination servers. In my setup, two Trend IMSS servers. The two Trend IMSS servers scan for virus and spam, and then routes mail to the final destination servers (a clustered Lotus Domino solution).

For this to work 100% I need Spamfilter to route mail to more than one destination server without the use of DNS.

Can you PLEASE implement this in Spamfilter ISP? I'll bet there are more peoploe out there wanting the same....

Thanks!

Back to Top
dcook View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 174
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dcook Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 August 2004 at 5:05pm

Hi,

I am a user not with Logsat.  We run two spamfilter installations, one primary and one backup through MX records.  We run one MySql installation for both spamfilters (not necessary for operation but for quarantine) and the spamfilters forward mail to the destination mail servers withour DNS.  We run Mailmax for our web customers, and both Lotus and Exchange inhouse for our company.  I also have several customers with their own mail servers.  The install works great.

Dwight 

Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 August 2004 at 10:47pm

Morten,

If I understand your request correctly, what you ask for is already implemented in SpamFilter. SpamFilter does not deliver mail by DNS, rather it forwards all mail it receives to the default "destination SMTP server" you configure. You may also optionally specify to use different "destination SMTP servers" for the various domains you own, so for example email addressed to morten.com could be forwarded to mail.morten.com, email to authen.com could be forwarded to mail.authen.com, assuming you own morten.com and authen.com.

This will allow you to scan all incoming mail for scan, then forward the traffic to the two IMSS servers.

Please let us know if we misunderstood.

Roberto F.
LogSat Software

Back to Top
Morten Authen View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Morten Authen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 August 2004 at 3:11am

No, that's not what I mean...

In other words, I need Spamfilter ISP to have failover oppurtunities. If destinationserver1 is down, I want Spamfilter ISP to deliver automaticly to destinationserver2, and vice versa.

One way is to specify two destination servers per domain, or specify two destinationservers in the config, and then Spamfilter will deliver mail to the specified servers, if one is down, the mail is delivered to the second server specified.

This is a HUGE help for me, and I bet others would like this too :-)

Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 August 2004 at 11:07pm

Morten,

I now see your question. When users implement load-balanced installations like yours, we usually see a hardware balancer (like the Cisco CSS series) used to split the load between the 2 servers. This is apparently not the case with your setup.

Yours is the 1st request for adding this failover ability. I've added it to the wish list, but unfortunately cannot provide with estimates on if and when it will be implemented.

Roberto F.
LogSat Software

Back to Top
Morten Authen View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Morten Authen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 August 2004 at 5:53am
Great!

I know bigger companies use Cisco, and other load balancers, but for smaller companies, the best solution is that the software itself have this functionality.

I think smaller companies like the one I represent will think this is a very nice feature, since we don't have to invest huge amounts of $$$ in hardware and technical skills.

I look forward to future releases of Spamfilter ISP, maybe I'm lucky :o)

/Morten
Back to Top
ASB View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 August 2004 at 1:36pm

I can add a second request. :)

It could be as simple as the DNS configuration is now: multiple servers separated by a comma...

Back to Top
Eilif Skappel View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Eilif Skappel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 September 2004 at 2:05am

My company would also like a failover-feature as Morten Authen requests.

Eilif S.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.