Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - any ideas?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

any ideas?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
vinh View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vinh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: any ideas?
    Posted: 09 October 2003 at 8:00pm

To whom it may concern,

I just got the SpamFilter ISP to work properly.  However just when I thought everything went smooth sailing, I hit rough waters.  Every 2 hours, the spamfilter service hangs.  It did this twice today.  To get it started again, I had to kill the program, and restart the service.(didn't have to reboot the machine).  It logs an event in the event view as follow:

Event ID 7031

The SpamFilter service terminated unexpectedly.  It had done this 2 time(s).  The following corrective action will be taken in 0 milliseconds: No action.

 

Here is my PC info:

Compaq Deskpro En PIII 733mhz 256MB

W2K Server  w/sp4 and all updates

Access 2000  w/sp3 and all updates

Mdac  2.8

SpamFilter  v1.2.0.178

Pc Anywhere  9.2

No other software is installed on this machine, a pretty clean system.  I appreciate and help.  Thanks in advance.

 

V

 

 

Back to Top
Desperado View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1143
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Desperado Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 October 2003 at 2:55am

Vinh,

When it hangs, is the CPU railed at 100% ?   Can you update to the latest build?

Dan S.

 

Back to Top
vinh View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vinh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 October 2003 at 2:46pm

No, there is barely any CPU usage when it hangs.  I solved the problem after installing your beta release(v.2.0.0.234).  However, nothing seems to be working in the blacklist except for keywords filter.  Would really like to use From\To features, is the beta crippled in anyway?  I installed the beta version over the eval version.  Could that be the problem?  Thanks.

Back to Top
Desperado View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1143
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Desperado Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 October 2003 at 3:20pm

vinh,

First ... please understand that I am also a "User" and not part of LogSat.

Having said that, I have had all my lists working in the Bets Version so I am not sure what your problem may be.

Dan S.

 

Back to Top
vinh View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vinh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 October 2003 at 6:48pm

It's actually my bad, I cleared everything under the Customized Items.  Once I restored, it everything in the Black/White Lists worked great.  My theory behind clearing all the reponses in the Customized Items is that I don't want the senders to know that they are getting blocked.  Is there way I could accomplish this, thanks.

 

V

Back to Top
Desperado View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1143
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Desperado Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 October 2003 at 7:14pm

vinh,

Actually, RFC STRONGLY suggests a proper bounce response .... however if you place a single dot in the custom messages, they will get a bounce but with no usefull information.

Dan S.

 

Back to Top
vinh View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vinh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 October 2003 at 7:31pm

Thanks for the all the responses Dan.  I agree that the RFC strongly suggest a proper bounce response, but knowing how malicous internet users could be.  I like to keep it low key, and let the spammers think they got their messages off.  Thanks again.

 

V

Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 October 2003 at 1:12am

Vinh,

The free version 1.2.0.178 has some bugs that have been fixed in later releases available to licensed users only. If the beta solved your performance issues, most likely the licensed version will work fine.

The beta build is not crippled in any way, but it will expire and stop working in a few weeks. Being a beta, it has several issues that will be addressed before it's released to commercial/licensed status.

Roberto F.
LogSat Software

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.