Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Wishlist 2
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Wishlist 2

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
MarvinFS View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MarvinFS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wishlist 2
    Posted: 29 May 2003 at 7:47am
What about to make it 2 modes how to run: a. common as it now - standalone mode. b. to bind to an existing smtp service instance, it's like to bind to current running ms smtp service and to just scan mail against b/ls and to nothing else... that would be GREAT not to have separate server just for spamfilter. amny antispam stuff do it already... such a, openrelay filter and gfi mail essentials... it'll add VERY good flexibility....and it'll solve many problems.
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4068
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2003 at 8:07am

You don't need a separate server to run SpamFilter... You just need to bind a second IP on the same smtp server. Actually not even that is needed, the same IP can be shared if you use different ports for SpamFIlter and the SMTP server.

SpamFilter works as a proxy, it cannot "sniff" traffic as it reaches the SMTP server, and act on it. This is what allows it more flexibility than others. For example doing so allows incoming email to be cleaned and then forwarded to not one, but many different smtp servers. Think about an ISP with 1000 domains, hosted on 10 different mail servers. They now have one single central entrance point that scans/cleans email, which is then forwarded to 10 different servers..

Roberto Franceschetti
LogSat Software

Back to Top
Desperado View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1143
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Desperado Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2003 at 3:00am

We are doing exactly what Roberto is talking about.  SpamFilter ISP receives mail on port 25 and we send it out on port 26 to another SMTP server on the same IP.  Actually, the second server ships to a third server on yet another port.  We host around 500 domains on this server but we also are filtering mail for customers that have their own Exchange servers (Note to Roberto:  This is where the ETRN problem comes in).  For thos customers, we are able to use the SpamFilter ISP to direct specific domains to outside servers.  It all works cleanly and without any issues.

Dan S.

Back to Top
Alan View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 June 2003 at 11:55am
Dan what hardware (CPU's, RAM, etc) are you using for this server?
Back to Top
Desperado View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1143
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Desperado Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 June 2003 at 4:06pm

Alan,

Dual PIII 800 with 1GB Ram.  Is this wat you wanted?

Dan

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.