Spam Filter ISP Support Forum

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Feature Request
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Feature Request

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Feature Request
    Posted: 04 February 2009 at 11:53am
Hi Roberto, we're wanting to get rid of an older piece of software. But there is one feature it does that spamfilter doesn't. And that is pause the queue. Basically if we're having problems with forwarding servers, etc etc....we can have the server accept mail and do nothing with it. It just sits in a queue waiting to be processed, or have it be processed and waiting in a queue to send off to servers.

Is there any way you could add this in?
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4065
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 February 2009 at 6:44pm
...in a way SpamFilter has been able to do that for the lat 6 years :-)
There isn't actually a "button" to pause the queue, but if you enter in the "destination SMTP Server" either an invalid port or IP, SpamFilter will not be able to reach the destination and will then queue the email indefinitely until you change the settings back to your SMTP server.
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 February 2009 at 7:52pm
This doesn't do anything for domains with their own smtp servers though. it would only affect the domains who use the default server. This is where a button to pause the queue would work great!
Back to Top
LogSat View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 25 January 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 4065
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LogSat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 February 2009 at 8:49pm
if a domain has their own custom SMTP server, this holds true for them as well. If you change that specific custom destination SMTP server's IP or port, all email for that domain will have all its emails queued as long as that specific destination SMTP server is off line (that is until you revert back to its working settings)
Roberto Franceschetti

LogSat Software

Spam Filter ISP
Back to Top
kspare View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 January 2005
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kspare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 February 2009 at 9:41pm
The request is to pause the queue as a whole. Not any one individually. But to have an actual option to pause it instantly without any confusing tricks etc that anyone can understand. I realize I can make a bandaid solution work, but i'd like to see an actual function do this. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.266 seconds.